Random Coincidence or The Universe Responds

We will keep coming back to The Law Of Attraction (LOA) because it plays such a fundamental role in your becoming the person you are meant to be and following your bliss. (Don’t worry, there’s lots else coming too.)

The law is, that whatever you imagine and feel to be true sinks into your subconscious mind which in turn brings it to pass.  (Joseph Murphy)

 We’ve all had the experience of the LOA in action in our own lives.  Psychologists call it a self fulfilling prophesy, religious people call it divine intervention, septics write it off as random coincidence, mystics explain it as the interconnectivity of all things, Einstein called it the “spooky action at a distance.” But it is a force in the universe and once you understand how it works, you can really begin to shape your life in a more desirable direction.  But remember, positive attracts positive, and negative attracts negative.

Last week, for the first time in my life,  I lost my wallet in a taxi cab.  I had it on my lap and was talking with a friend, and when I got out of the cab, I forgot it was on my lap and never heard it drop.  Today I did the same thing with my hat and gloves.  I was on the subway, chatting with a friend, and had my hat and gloves on my lap. When our stop came I jumped up and never noticed they had fallen from my lap. Now you might think that these are the random acts of a careless person, or someone who is overly distracted.  That would be the simple explanation.images 2

However, in both of these, and several other incidences in the course of the past few months, there has been one common factor.  In all of them, on the days surrounding the loss of each object, I have either verbally said aloud, or had a distinct thought of the object.  My thought was, “Oh I just love this wallet (which had been given to me as a gift) this book, this scarf, this hat, etc.

This morning, as I braced against the March winds walking through Central Park with my perfect hat and gloves, I thought, “Of all the hats I have, this is the best hat I’ve ever owned. I’m so glad I found it on a recent trip to Ireland. I just love it.  And these gloves, are the greatest. They have special tips that allow me to make Iphone calls with my gloves on.  They are perfect. I love them.”

What I now realize is that every time I covet something, I loose it within a few days.  This morning it only took a few minutes.  What’s going on?

I was expressing gratitude for these lovely objects.  At least that is what it appears to be on the surface, right? But on a less apparent level, on the subconscious level,  what was really operating was a fear that I would loose these coveted objects.  Especially since that seems to be happening a lot.  In fact, those who know me know I’ve even remarked lately how I keep loosing things that I love.  And so I do again. It’s the universe giving me exactly what I am thinking.

In each of these cases, the object wasn’t simply an object. I had a special attachment to each of these things beyond the mere physical.  The hat was bought on a trip to Ireland with my daughter and when I bought it I declared that each time I would wear it would be a reminder of  our trip.  The gloves were an item I had searched for and one day a friend was wearing them and she simple took them off and gave them to me.  I was so grateful for her love.  You get the point.  These were not just things to me, they held sentimental significance that made them precious.  Yes, I was afraid of loosing them.  So the fear and loss was really what I was thinking about. That’s what I was putting out to the universe, and the universe brought it to me.  That’s how the LOA works. Be careful what you wish for.

So here is what I’d like you to think about today.  Try to remember a series of events that seemed like “random circumstance.”  Deconstruct it and see if perhaps you were effecting the outcome by what you were thinking either consciously or unconsciously.

Understanding that loosing my hat and other objects is the LOA at work, doesn’t make me  miss my things any  less though.  I really did love that perfect hat, my gloves, that cashmere scarf, my lovely wallet, etc.  But lesson learned, they’re just things.  As for my Iphone,  I’m just putting it out there. I don’t love it, I just like it. It’s not perfect, and there are things that really bug me about it. (I’m not taking any chances.) 🙂

Dr. Wayne Dyer- Change Your Thoughts, Change Your Life

 

Leave a Reply

