A Jug Fills Drop By Drop (Buddha)

Do you psych yourself out by defeating yourself before you’ve even begun?  The nagging voice inside you saying:

  • you’re not good enough for…
  • you’ll never be really successful
  • you’re stuck in this situation, be realistic

All that negative programing comes from old scripts.  Maybe you’ve been in therapy to help work some of that out.   Stick with it if it’s working for you but add this.  It doesn’t cost you anything and you don’t have to leave the comfort of your couch.

Starting right now I want you to create one positive affirmation.

A positive affirmation is a statement that counteracts negativity.  It’s a statement pronouncing something positive about yourself that you don’t necessarily fully yet believe.  It might be a quality you want to enhance in yourself, or a goal you want to accomplish.  It should be in the present tense, stated as if it is already truth,and it should be specific.

images

OTHER EXAMPLES

  1. I am honest and truthful with myself and others
  2. I can accomplish anything I set my mind to
  3. I am open minded
  4. I am true to myself
  5. I am smart and resourceful
  6. I treat others with respect and dignity
  7. I take care of my body and make healthy choices
  8. I am worthy of love

images

Take your time coming up with your affirmation because it’s going to be with you for a while.  Now I want you to put your statement a your refrigerator, on a mirror you look into frequently,  put a sticky on your computer screen, on the inside of your front door, stick it to the back of your cell phone and on your car dashboard. That should cover all bases but hey, go crazy with yourself.

The point is, this statement is something to repeat frequently to yourself over the course of the next several days.  Consciously make space in your day for focusing on it.  Say it to yourself as often as you can.

Positive Affirmations – Part 1

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xuVTnU-8vGE
Positive Affirmations- Part 2

2 thoughts on “A Jug Fills Drop By Drop (Buddha)

Leave a Reply

